An interactive portal for Current & Retrospective News

The Portal provides information pertaining to Sh. Narendra Modi, available in Public Domain along with its original source. Therefore, no responsibility of the authority, views and opinions expressed in the News/Information lies on the owner/administrator of the Portal. All precautions related to IPR are taken care of, still  any inadvertent Infringement of Copyright or any other problem of any sort arising on the portal, may be immediately brought to the notice of the administrator.

Ravi Shankar Prasad
shri Ravi Shankar Prasad

  • Department : Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology,Ministry of Law and Justice
  • Constituency :
  • Party : Bharatiya Janata Party
  • Date of Birth : Monday, August 30, 1954
  • State Name : Bihar
  • Permanent Address : 42, East Boring Road, P.S.- Budha Colony,Patna- 800001
  • Education Qualifications : B.A.Hons., M.A. (Pol.Science), LL.B. Educated at Patna University
  • Present Address : 21, Mother Teresa Crescent, New Delhi
  • Email Address :



  • Mr. Ravi Shankar Prasad was born on 30th August 1954 in Patna, Bihar. His father, Late Shri Thakur Prasad was an eminent lawyer of Bihar. A great political activist and organizer, he was the founder of Jansangh in Bihar and was its President for 10 years. He also held the industries portfolio in the State cabinet of Bihar.
  • Born to an illustrious father, Shri Prasad did his L.L.B. from Patna University on his footsteps. He has been an excellent student all through his Matriculation, Graduation (Honours in Political Science) and Post Graduation studies.
  • Shri Prasad has been a crusader all through his life. Was one of the front ranking student leaders in the well known J.P. Movement in Bihar in the seventies and also suffered long imprisonment-organised resistance against the emergency in Bihar.
  • Was associated with Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (A.B.V.P.) for long years and held various offices in the said organisation.
  • Also a keen debater both in Hindi and English in college/University days and achieved regular distinction in debating competitions on the State and National level.

Public and Social Background

  • 1991-95 National Vice President, Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (B.J.Y.M.), the Youth Wing of B.J.P. for two terms.
  • 1995 onwards Member, National Executive Committee, Bharatiya Janata Party (B.J.P.)
  • April 2000 Elected to Rajya Sabha.
  • May 2000-2001 Member, Standing Committee on Petroleum and Chemicals; Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Finance.
  • June 2001- 2002 National Convenor Legal Cell, BJP.
  • 1 Sept. 2001-29 Jan. 2003 Minister of State in the Ministry of Coal and Mines.
  • 1 July 2002-29 Jan. 2003 Minister of State in the Ministry of Law and Justice (Additional charge)
  • 29 Jan. 2003-May 2004 Minister of State (Independent charge) of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.
  • May 2000 - Aug. 2001 and July 2004 - Aug. 2006 Member, Committee on Rules.
  • Aug. 2004 - 2006 Member, Standing Committee on Human Resource Development.
  • Sept. 2004 - April 2006 Member, Committee on Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (Rajya Sabha).
  • Oct.2004 -2006 Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Finance.
  • Nov. 2004- May 2009 Member, Sub-Committee on University and Higher Education of the Committee on Human Resource Development.
  • March 2005 onwards National Spokesperson, B.J.P.
  • April 2006 Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (second term).
  • Aug. 2006- May 2009 and Aug. 2009-Aug. 2011 Member, Standing Committee on Information Technology.
  • Sept. 2006 onwards Member, Committee of Privileges.
  • Sept. 2006- May 2009 Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of External Affairs.
  • Aug. 2009-2012 Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Finance.
  • Oct. 2009-April 2012 Member, Executive Council of the Institute of Constitutional and Parliamentary Studies.
  • Dec. 2009-Nov. 2011 Member, Library Committee.
  • April 2010 – March 2013 All India General Secretary & Chief National Spokesperson of BJP.
  • Was Member of the Central Disciplinary Committee of the Party.
  • Aug. 2010-April 2012 Member, Court of the University of Delhi.
  • March 2011 onwards Member, JPC to examine matters relating to allocation and pricing of telecom licences and spectrum.
  • April 2012 Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (third term).
  • 22 July 2012 - 25 May 2014, Deputy Leader, BJP Parliamentary Party, Rajya Sabha.
  • May 2012 – Nov. 2012 Member, Consultative Committee on Finance.
  • May 2012 – May 2014 Member, Standing Committee on Finance.
  • Aug. 2012 May 2014 Member, Business Advisory Committee Member.
  • August 2012 – May 2014 Member, Joint Committee on Offices of Profit.
  • Dec. 2012 - May 2014 Member, Committee on Ethics.
  • Dec. 2012 - May 2014 Member, Consultative Committee on Defence.
  • May 2013 - May 2014 Member, Committee on Privileges.
  • From 26th May 2014 Minister of Law & Justice and Minister of Telecom & IT
  • From 5th July 2016 Minister of Law & Justice and Minister of Electronics & Information Technology